Jump to content

Welcome to CyanogenMod

Welcome to our forum. Like most online communities you must register to post, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of the CyanogenMod Forum by signing in or creating an account. You can even sign in with your Facebook or Twitter account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get automatic updates
  • Get your own profile and make new friends
  • Download files attached to the forum.
  • Customize your experience here
  • Share your CyanogenMod experience!
Guest Message by DevFuse
 

Swype Keyboard


  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 gotminein89

gotminein89
  • Members
  • 6 posts
  • Device Model:
    |4|
  • CM Version:
    1.6
  • Recovery Image:
    Cyanogen

Posted 15 June 2010 - 05:47 AM

I rooted my MyTouch 3g/3.5mm Black. I want to get the swype keyboard back. It was on the phone when I bought it from T-Mobile. I downloaded an .apk but it tells me my screen is not formatted correct. Any help would be great.

#2 nwordjim

nwordjim
  • Members
  • 267 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Location:
    Oregon
  • Device Model:
    Tmobile G1 & G2
  • CM Version:
    CM 7 Nightly 58
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 15 June 2010 - 05:55 AM

View Postgotminein89, on 15 June 2010 - 05:47 AM, said:

I rooted my MyTouch 3g/3.5mm Black. I want to get the swype keyboard back. It was on the phone when I bought it from T-Mobile. I downloaded an .apk but it tells me my screen is not formatted correct. Any help would be great.

So I take it you rooted and flashed a new rom onto your MT3G and lost swype right?
well im not entirely sure what the policy is on giving out apk's but I have one that I use on my G1 that I could post if someone could tell me if its alright. I dont think its warez is it?

#3 AbsoluteZero

AbsoluteZero

    Droid Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 1542 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Location:
    Washington DC
  • Device Model:
    N5,motox,N4,N7,SGN,TP,D1
  • CM Version:
    stock,stock,CM10.2,CM10.2,CM10.1,CM9,N#174
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 15 June 2010 - 05:58 AM

View Postnwordjim, on 15 June 2010 - 05:55 AM, said:

So I take it you rooted and flashed a new rom onto your MT3G and lost swype right?
well im not entirely sure what the policy is on giving out apk's but I have one that I use on my G1 that I could post if someone could tell me if its alright. I dont think its warez is it?
Don't upload it here...Swype doesn't want it shared and yes it is "warez"....That's why people are using MediaFire, etc.

@OP...did none of the links here work? There are others mentioned throughout that thread....or you could just search "swype" in that handy dandy search bar up top. You should be able to find some links throughout this forum as well as more on xda and droidforums.net. Do some googling.

#4 nwordjim

nwordjim
  • Members
  • 267 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Location:
    Oregon
  • Device Model:
    Tmobile G1 & G2
  • CM Version:
    CM 7 Nightly 58
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 15 June 2010 - 06:00 AM

well i guess you gonna have to search the interwebz for your warez. shouldnt be too hard to find

#5 zim2dive

zim2dive
  • Members
  • 11 posts
  • Device Model:
    |2|
  • CM Version:
    5.08test4
  • Recovery Image:
    Amon_RA

Posted 15 June 2010 - 12:06 PM

And/or go to the Market and get ShapeWriter.  Its free and doesn't expire.  And personally I find its method of suggesting word completions much less intrusive (and less annoying) than Swype.

#6 lithid

lithid

    I Like Turtles

  • Donators
  • 936 posts
  • Twitter:http://twitter.com/lithid
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
  • Device Model:
    HTC Evo 4G
  • CM Version:
    Nightly
  • Recovery Image:
    Amon_RA

Posted 15 June 2010 - 12:11 PM

Here is the Swype keyboard I use to this day...

http://www.mediafire.com/?zqovymq2ldl

#7 invisiblewave

invisiblewave
  • Donators
  • 1140 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Device Model:
    Sensation
  • CM Version:
    Nightlies usually
  • Recovery Image:
    Stock

Posted 15 June 2010 - 01:28 PM

View Postlithid, on 15 June 2010 - 12:11 PM, said:

Here is the Swype keyboard I use to this day...

http://www.mediafire.com/?zqovymq2ldl

Hopefully this one will work!  The current beta version expired last night.

#8 invisiblewave

invisiblewave
  • Donators
  • 1140 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Device Model:
    Sensation
  • CM Version:
    Nightlies usually
  • Recovery Image:
    Stock

Posted 15 June 2010 - 01:53 PM

View Postinvisiblewave, on 15 June 2010 - 01:28 PM, said:

Hopefully this one will work!  The current beta version expired last night.

And.... it doesn't.  This one's expired as well.

#9 devlogic

devlogic
  • Members
  • 38 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Device Model:
    |2|
  • CM Version:
    6.1 w/ 2708 radio
  • Recovery Image:
    Amon_RA

Posted 15 June 2010 - 01:54 PM

View Postinvisiblewave, on 15 June 2010 - 01:28 PM, said:

Hopefully this one will work!  The current beta version expired last night.

Actually, that was the old beta. A new beta came out last week ("June 2010 Swype Beta"): http://beta.swype.com/

#10 -Stevo-

-Stevo-
  • Members
  • 1297 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Location:
    Salt Lake City, Utah
  • Device Model:
    HTC Vision G2
  • CM Version:
    CM7.0.0-RCX
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 15 June 2010 - 01:59 PM

Download the one in my black bar thread, it's version 1.56, not expired.

#11 invisiblewave

invisiblewave
  • Donators
  • 1140 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Device Model:
    Sensation
  • CM Version:
    Nightlies usually
  • Recovery Image:
    Stock

Posted 15 June 2010 - 02:31 PM

View Post-Stevo-, on 15 June 2010 - 01:59 PM, said:

Download the one in my black bar thread, it's version 1.56, not expired.

Cheers!  That one worked.  You Swap scripts are also working very well for me.  Thanks!

#12 parkenshaw

parkenshaw
  • Members
  • 59 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Location:
    Brooklyn
  • Device Model:
    |2|
  • CM Version:
    6.0
  • Recovery Image:
    Amon_RA

Posted 15 June 2010 - 02:44 PM

Swype has never worked for me. I swype some text, and then it makes a sound and thats it. Even running through the tutrial, the tutorial swypes, you hear a sound, and thats it...

#13 invisiblewave

invisiblewave
  • Donators
  • 1140 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Device Model:
    Sensation
  • CM Version:
    Nightlies usually
  • Recovery Image:
    Stock

Posted 15 June 2010 - 03:53 PM

View Postparkenshaw, on 15 June 2010 - 02:44 PM, said:

Swype has never worked for me. I swype some text, and then it makes a sound and thats it. Even running through the tutrial, the tutorial swypes, you hear a sound, and thats it...

That's what it does when it's expired.  Does it work if you type the individual keys?

#14 -Stevo-

-Stevo-
  • Members
  • 1297 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Location:
    Salt Lake City, Utah
  • Device Model:
    HTC Vision G2
  • CM Version:
    CM7.0.0-RCX
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 15 June 2010 - 04:43 PM

Swype 1.56 - http://goaruna.com/cl3a

BackSwype 1.56 - http://goaruna.com/cl3b

#15 parkenshaw

parkenshaw
  • Members
  • 59 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Location:
    Brooklyn
  • Device Model:
    |2|
  • CM Version:
    6.0
  • Recovery Image:
    Amon_RA

Posted 15 June 2010 - 06:14 PM

View Postinvisiblewave, on 15 June 2010 - 03:53 PM, said:

That's what it does when it's expired.  Does it work if you type the individual keys?

Ah, I see, yes, it does still type on the individual keys. I tried the files in the post after and its working now. Seems I always keep getting an older APK. Thanks, works great.

#16 invisiblewave

invisiblewave
  • Donators
  • 1140 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Device Model:
    Sensation
  • CM Version:
    Nightlies usually
  • Recovery Image:
    Stock

Posted 15 June 2010 - 06:34 PM

View Postparkenshaw, on 15 June 2010 - 06:14 PM, said:

Ah, I see, yes, it does still type on the individual keys. I tried the files in the post after and its working now. Seems I always keep getting an older APK. Thanks, works great.

That one will expire as well at some point.  So far, they're all temporary beta releases.

#17 Infinite Chaos

Infinite Chaos
  • Members
  • 2 posts
  • Twitter:InfiniteCha0s
  • Device Model:
    |2|
  • CM Version:
    5
  • Recovery Image:
    Amon_RA

Posted 15 June 2010 - 06:48 PM

View Postinvisiblewave, on 15 June 2010 - 06:34 PM, said:

That one will expire as well at some point.  So far, they're all temporary beta releases.

The version that came with my MT3G 1.2 was 2.something and it doesn't expire, ever. It'd be nice to be able to get that version back. I wouldn't feel guilty downloading, since it's part of the reason I bought the phone (as opposed to a G1 with a keyboard), and I'm licensed to use it.

#18 invisiblewave

invisiblewave
  • Donators
  • 1140 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Device Model:
    Sensation
  • CM Version:
    Nightlies usually
  • Recovery Image:
    Stock

Posted 15 June 2010 - 07:12 PM

View PostInfinite Chaos, on 15 June 2010 - 06:48 PM, said:

The version that came with my MT3G 1.2 was 2.something and it doesn't expire, ever. It'd be nice to be able to get that version back. I wouldn't feel guilty downloading, since it's part of the reason I bought the phone (as opposed to a G1 with a keyboard), and I'm licensed to use it.

Just restore it from the backup you did prior to installing CM.

#19 MonthOLDpickle

MonthOLDpickle
  • Members
  • 9 posts
  • Device Model:
    |4|
  • CM Version:
    5.0.7
  • Recovery Image:
    Cyanogen

Posted 15 June 2010 - 10:15 PM

Any other way of getting the MT3G 1.2 2 something swype back without restoring a backup?

View Postinvisiblewave, on 15 June 2010 - 07:12 PM, said:

Just restore it from the backup you did prior to installing CM.


Is there a way without restoring a backup?

#20 ciwrl

ciwrl

    Whose bright idea was it to put me in charge?

  • Administrators
  • 1621 posts
  • Twitter:ciwrl
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Device Model:
    DS|N1|NS|G2|SGS|SGN|N4|N5
  • CM Version:
    [Latest]
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 15 June 2010 - 10:41 PM

FYI Swype is being released officially this week!

http://techcrunch.co.../#idc-container

Link for download tomorrow http://beta.swype.com/

Quote

Until now you’ve had to buy a device that had Swype pre-installed to use it (there are six devices now, lots more coming soon and 50 by end of year). Or one of the lucky 25,000 people who grabbed a timed beta of the Android app late last year. But tomorrow you’ll be able to visit the Swype website and download the Android application directly.