Jump to content

Welcome to CyanogenMod

Welcome to our forum. Like most online communities you must register to post, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of the CyanogenMod Forum by signing in or creating an account. You can even sign in with your Facebook or Twitter account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get automatic updates
  • Get your own profile and make new friends
  • Download files attached to the forum.
  • Customize your experience here
  • Share your CyanogenMod experience!
Guest Message by DevFuse
 

SD card won't mount,


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 mountaingoat

mountaingoat
  • Members
  • 11 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Device Model:
    HTC Desire
  • CM Version:
    6.1.1
  • Recovery Image:
    Cyanogen

Posted 26 December 2010 - 06:24 PM

I'm running 6.1.1 and out of the blue yesterday my SD card was lost. It will not mount, but when I plug the card into my laptop all the info is on there. I've rebooted several times. Backed-up the card on my computer, formatted it and tried again and still have nothing.

Any thoughts or tips?

Thanks.

#2 mountaingoat

mountaingoat
  • Members
  • 11 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Device Model:
    HTC Desire
  • CM Version:
    6.1.1
  • Recovery Image:
    Cyanogen

Posted 26 December 2010 - 11:02 PM

More info.

I've tried this fix: USB brick
but I can only do the first step and the SD card still won't mount in either a reboot or ClockworkMod.

When I try it in ClockworkMod I get this error message:
E:Can't mount /dev/block/mmcblk0p1 (or /dev/block/mmcblk0) (no such file or directory)

#3 blkqi

blkqi
  • Members
  • 26 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Location:
    Seattle
  • Device Model:
    Desire
  • CM Version:
    6.1.0
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 27 December 2010 - 01:39 AM

I'm guessing it doesn't mount in android either...

What's the output of
# busybox fdisk -l /dev/block/mmcblk0
when run in adb or a terminal emulator (as root).

also: Have you tried a different card?

Edited by blkqi, 27 December 2010 - 01:41 AM.


#4 mountaingoat

mountaingoat
  • Members
  • 11 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Device Model:
    HTC Desire
  • CM Version:
    6.1.1
  • Recovery Image:
    Cyanogen

Posted 27 December 2010 - 02:09 AM

If I'm running it right, which I don't think I am I get nothing out of either. But adb and terminal emulator are totally new for me. I'm assuming I just paste or type that command in and go?

I have tried two different cards and nothing happened.

#5 mountaingoat

mountaingoat
  • Members
  • 11 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Device Model:
    HTC Desire
  • CM Version:
    6.1.1
  • Recovery Image:
    Cyanogen

Posted 27 December 2010 - 02:27 AM

Okay, I figured out ADB a little more. Here is what I got when I ran your command:

fdisk: can't open '/dev/block/mmcblk0': No such file or directory

#6 blkqi

blkqi
  • Members
  • 26 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Location:
    Seattle
  • Device Model:
    Desire
  • CM Version:
    6.1.0
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 27 December 2010 - 03:47 AM

doesn't sound good....

in adb shell check
# busybox ls -la /dev/block
for device files called mmcblk0 and mmcblk0p1.

If they don't exist try to make them with
# mknod /dev/block/mmcblk0 b 179 0 
# mknod /dev/block/mmcblk0p1 b 179 1

and try to mount with
# busybox mount /dev/block/mmcblk0p1 /sdcard

if it seemed to run smoothly check the contents of /sdcard
$ busybox ls -la /sdcard

If this works you might want to try to reflash CM. gotta have /sdcard on the CDMA desire!

edit: additionally, check sdcard slot for muck on contacts... and make sure you're using a FAT32 format

Edited by blkqi, 27 December 2010 - 03:51 AM.


#7 mountaingoat

mountaingoat
  • Members
  • 11 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Device Model:
    HTC Desire
  • CM Version:
    6.1.1
  • Recovery Image:
    Cyanogen

Posted 27 December 2010 - 11:29 AM

 blkqi, on 27 December 2010 - 03:47 AM, said:

doesn't sound good....

in adb shell check
# busybox ls -la /dev/block
for device files called mmcblk0 and mmcblk0p1.

If they don't exist try to make them with
# mknod /dev/block/mmcblk0 b 179 0 
# mknod /dev/block/mmcblk0p1 b 179 1

and try to mount with
# busybox mount /dev/block/mmcblk0p1 /sdcard

if it seemed to run smoothly check the contents of /sdcard
$ busybox ls -la /sdcard

If this works you might want to try to reflash CM. gotta have /sdcard on the CDMA desire!

edit: additionally, check sdcard slot for muck on contacts... and make sure you're using a FAT32 format


The files weren't there so I did make them. When I checked for them again it showed they were there but when I tried to mount the SD card I got this message
 mount: mounting /dev/block/mmcblk0p1 on /sdcard failed: No such device or address

Formatting and lack of muck are good. Already missed that card after and hour or so.

#8 mountaingoat

mountaingoat
  • Members
  • 11 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Device Model:
    HTC Desire
  • CM Version:
    6.1.1
  • Recovery Image:
    Cyanogen

Posted 27 December 2010 - 11:35 AM

When I try to mount from ClockworkMod it still shows that the
/dev/block/mmcblk0p1
file isn't there.

#9 2fast4u88

2fast4u88
  • Members
  • 545 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Location:
    West Virginia
  • Device Model:
    Cdma Desire
  • CM Version:
    6.1 Stable
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 27 December 2010 - 04:21 PM

This doesn't sound good at all. It looks like a reflash may be needed if I am looking at it right.

#10 mountaingoat

mountaingoat
  • Members
  • 11 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Device Model:
    HTC Desire
  • CM Version:
    6.1.1
  • Recovery Image:
    Cyanogen

Posted 27 December 2010 - 05:37 PM

I don't have a problem with reflashing, I just don't know how to do it without an sd card. Are there any tutorials for cyanogen?

#11 Ennon

Ennon

    πκα

  • Donators
  • 402 posts
  • Twitter:EnnonGShamoi
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Location:
    North Dakota, USA
  • Device Model:
    Galaxy S II (USCC)
  • CM Version:
    CyanogenMod
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 27 December 2010 - 06:18 PM

 mountaingoat, on 27 December 2010 - 05:37 PM, said:

I don't have a problem with reflashing, I just don't know how to do it without an sd card. Are there any tutorials for cyanogen?

Wait. . . go to recovery. Try mounting USB Mass Storage mode and plug in your phone to your pc (with the sd card in the phone, of course). Does it read it?

#12 blkqi

blkqi
  • Members
  • 26 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Location:
    Seattle
  • Device Model:
    Desire
  • CM Version:
    6.1.0
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 27 December 2010 - 06:27 PM

 mountaingoat, on 27 December 2010 - 05:37 PM, said:

I don't have a problem with reflashing, I just don't know how to do it without an sd card. Are there any tutorials for cyanogen?
normally the answer to that would be "no" if you don't have fastboot.

I don't know if this will work but you could try to trick recovery with mount. Maybe something like...

find your cache partition:
# cat /proc/mtd

should me mtdblock4 on desire.

in recovery mount the cache file at /sdcard
# mount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /sdcard

if this idea works at all recovery will then think this is your sd card. Some of those commands may need to prefixed with busybox depending on how your system is set up.

then you can push an update*.zip from your host computer to the cache file which is at /sdcard
adb push /path/to/update*.zip /sdcard

and flash that file. It's a bit of a crazy idea...

It's also a possibility that your problem is hardware related. To which you can only return the phone.

edit: and check your pm's

Edited by blkqi, 27 December 2010 - 06:29 PM.


#13 kwineon

kwineon
  • Members
  • 73 posts
  • Twitter:kwineon
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Location:
    Milwaukee WI
  • Device Model:
    HTC Desire CDMA (BravoC)
  • CM Version:
    CM 6.1RC1 w/Vorkkernal
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 27 December 2010 - 06:47 PM

I have had this happen before.  Do you have a nandroid backup?  I would say restore and reflash a different rom, usually fixes it for me.

-Dave

For some odd reason, even when I couldn't mount the card, restore still saw that it was there...at least it did for me.

#14 nitingoel2

nitingoel2
  • Members
  • 1 posts
  • Country:
    in - India
  • Device Model:
    spreadtrum sp6820gb
  • CM Version:
    0
  • Recovery Image:
    Stock

Posted 07 December 2013 - 07:11 PM

sir i have a spreadtrum based phone its board is sp6820gb_7620 and cpu id is 8810 cpu frequency is 1ghz and ram is 512mb with mali 300 gpu,
android version is 2.3.6 and kernal version is 2.6.35.7 user@c5-freecom-ubuntu #7, software version is mocordroid2.3.6.w12.20_p20.01_20130715.130506, hardware version is 1.1.0. my problem is that my phone has only 128 mb of internal memory and when i tried to edit vold.fstab to swap its internal memory with memory card it stopped detecting external sd card when turned on but when in recovery mode sd is shown present, can you please help me with my phone?

Edited by nitingoel2, 07 December 2013 - 07:12 PM.