Jump to content

Welcome to CyanogenMod

Welcome to our forum. Like most online communities you must register to post, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of the CyanogenMod Forum by signing in or creating an account. You can even sign in with your Facebook or Twitter account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get automatic updates
  • Get your own profile and make new friends
  • Download files attached to the forum.
  • Customize your experience here
  • Share your CyanogenMod experience!
Guest Message by DevFuse
 

Possible to Repartition Internal Memory?


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 Jimbo831

Jimbo831
  • Members
  • 39 posts
  • Twitter:Jimbo831
  • Device Model:
    |1|2|
  • CM Version:
    CM 5.0.8
  • Recovery Image:
    Amon_RA

Posted 14 February 2011 - 01:02 AM

I have seen some other Android devices have the ability to repartition the internal memory to add additional space.  From what I can tell using Root Explorer, my Nexus One has allocated just over 200 MB to the DEV partition, which to my understanding is just for OTAs.  I don't plan on getting any more OTAs in the future, so I would love to be able to put this space to use, which is almost half of my internal memory.  I noticed some other phones have the ability to use a custom MTD and repartition these, but can't find any info on doing this with the Nexus One.  Also, is there perhaps anything like Firerat's script that moves /data to the DEV partition instead of the SD, since moving it to SD slows performance a very noticeable amount for me.  I'm sorry if I'm missing something, but after much searching, I just can't find any info about this.  Thanks for any help.

#2 uansari1

uansari1
  • Members
  • 5 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Device Model:
    Nexus One
  • CM Version:
    CM7
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 14 February 2011 - 08:31 AM

If possible, I'm sure someone would have done it by now. I know it's possible on the Desire...but I've never heard of it on the N1.

Sent from my Nexus One using Tapatalk

#3 samarium

samarium
  • Members
  • 132 posts
  • Country:
    au - Australia
  • Device Model:
    N1
  • CM Version:
    CM7 nightlys
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 16 February 2011 - 06:55 AM

Jimbo, if you added up all the file system space you saw on root explorer you would have a problem, as it would add up to much more than the 512MB that is present on the N1.  /dev is not a partition, it is just a temporary file system that uses system RAM, nothing to do with the MTD.  Try www.google.com/search?q=linux+tmpfs

#4 ctd1500

ctd1500
  • Members
  • 1 posts
  • Device Model:
    Nexus One
  • CM Version:
    CM7
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 16 February 2011 - 10:22 AM

I followed Firerat's instructions and made my /system partition 120 MB (due to CM7's current size) and cache 2 MB which gave my Nexus One around 315 MB in /data for apps and such.
There is one small issue with this, it makes it temporarily impossible to install/update apps from the market.  But this is easily fixed, all you have to do to fix it is open terminal emulator or adb and enter:
su
mv /dev/cache/download /cache/download
ln -s /cache/download /dev/cache/download

This is what works well for me, feel free to experiment.  Move the download directory to SD if you'd like, etc..

#5 Jimbo831

Jimbo831
  • Members
  • 39 posts
  • Twitter:Jimbo831
  • Device Model:
    |1|2|
  • CM Version:
    CM 5.0.8
  • Recovery Image:
    Amon_RA

Posted 16 February 2011 - 06:24 PM

View Postctd1500, on 16 February 2011 - 10:22 AM, said:

I followed Firerat's instructions and made my /system partition 120 MB (due to CM7's current size) and cache 2 MB which gave my Nexus One around 315 MB in /data for apps and such.
There is one small issue with this, it makes it temporarily impossible to install/update apps from the market.  But this is easily fixed, all you have to do to fix it is open terminal emulator or adb and enter:
su
mv /dev/cache/download /cache/download
ln -s /cache/download /dev/cache/download

This is what works well for me, feel free to experiment.  Move the download directory to SD if you'd like, etc..

I just may give this a try.  I saw that thread, but saw it was mainly for the G1.  Glad to hear it does in fact work on the Nexus.

#6 Andy.Collette

Andy.Collette
  • Members
  • 41 posts
  • Twitter:Andy_Collette
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Location:
    St Paul, MN
  • Device Model:
    Galaxy Nexus (VZW/TORO)
  • CM Version:
    10.2 (latest nightly)
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 24 February 2011 - 12:41 AM

View PostJimbo831, on 16 February 2011 - 06:24 PM, said:

I just may give this a try.  I saw that thread, but saw it was mainly for the G1.  Glad to hear it does in fact work on the Nexus.


same here, why aren't others going this route as well? seems MUCH simpler than the App2ext/sd/etc....

are there any real dangers to this method? (bricking)

#7 easycheese

easycheese
  • Donators
  • 207 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Location:
    ???, Afghanistan
  • Device Model:
    Nexus One
  • CM Version:
    7RC4 (too lazy to get the final)
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 24 February 2011 - 02:52 AM

View PostAndy.Collette, on 24 February 2011 - 12:41 AM, said:

same here, why aren't others going this route as well? seems MUCH simpler than the App2ext/sd/etc....


Because w/Apps2ext I now have 2Gb+ internal for apps instead of a paltry 315 meg :)

#8 bassmadrigal

bassmadrigal
  • Administrators
  • 12912 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Location:
    Newport News, VA
  • Device Model:
    Nexus 4
  • CM Version:
    10.2 Nightlies
  • Recovery Image:
    TWRP

Posted 24 February 2011 - 10:09 AM

View PostAndy.Collette, on 24 February 2011 - 12:41 AM, said:

same here, why aren't others going this route as well? seems MUCH simpler than the App2ext/sd/etc....

are there any real dangers to this method? (bricking)


View Posteasycheese, on 24 February 2011 - 02:52 AM, said:

Because w/Apps2ext I now have 2Gb+ internal for apps instead of a paltry 315 meg :)

+1 (except I *only* have 1GB with 650MB free with over 100+ apps installed)

Also, the size of CM may change and in the future it may not fit in the allocated size you gave /system. It is really easy to flash DT after I flash gapps anyway (since I never use ROM Manager to flash anymore).

#9 temasek

temasek
  • Donators
  • 3345 posts
  • Twitter:temasek71
  • Country:
    sg - Singapore
  • Device Model:
    Nexus One / O2X
  • CM Version:
    CM7.2.0 RC0 SelfKANG
  • Recovery Image:
    Amon_RA

Posted 24 February 2011 - 12:54 PM

I have over 200 apps and games with approximately 500mb left on 1gb ext3. I still have 82mb internal. :)

Repartition doesn't suit my needs.

#10 danger-rat

danger-rat
  • Donators
  • 602 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Device Model:
    N1
  • CM Version:
    Latest nightly
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 24 February 2011 - 03:54 PM

+1
I also wouldn't want to run with a 2 meg cache, either...

Sent from my Nexus One using Tapatalk

#11 Andy.Collette

Andy.Collette
  • Members
  • 41 posts
  • Twitter:Andy_Collette
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Location:
    St Paul, MN
  • Device Model:
    Galaxy Nexus (VZW/TORO)
  • CM Version:
    10.2 (latest nightly)
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 01 March 2011 - 12:27 AM

View Posttemasek, on 24 February 2011 - 12:54 PM, said:

I have over 200 apps and games with approximately 500mb left on 1gb ext3. I still have 82mb internal. :)

How do you have 82mb left? I have far less than 500mb of my ext3  used up, and less than 50 remaining of internal remaining.

I would love allocating 70 meg of my cache to internal, leaving a safe amount of cache.

Sent from my Nexus One using Tapatalk

#12 danger-rat

danger-rat
  • Donators
  • 602 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Device Model:
    N1
  • CM Version:
    Latest nightly
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 01 March 2011 - 06:21 PM

Move dalvik to SD with Darktremor

Sent from my Nexus One using Tapatalk

#13 bassmadrigal

bassmadrigal
  • Administrators
  • 12912 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Location:
    Newport News, VA
  • Device Model:
    Nexus 4
  • CM Version:
    10.2 Nightlies
  • Recovery Image:
    TWRP

Posted 01 March 2011 - 07:09 PM

View Postdanger-rat, on 01 March 2011 - 06:21 PM, said:

Move dalvik to SD with Darktremor

Sent from my Nexus One using Tapatalk

su
a2sd cachesd


#14 Andy.Collette

Andy.Collette
  • Members
  • 41 posts
  • Twitter:Andy_Collette
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Location:
    St Paul, MN
  • Device Model:
    Galaxy Nexus (VZW/TORO)
  • CM Version:
    10.2 (latest nightly)
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 01 March 2011 - 08:25 PM

I kinda figured that was why. Can I undo that if I want?

nexusonecm7nightlies8gbclass6

#15 easycheese

easycheese
  • Donators
  • 207 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Location:
    ???, Afghanistan
  • Device Model:
    Nexus One
  • CM Version:
    7RC4 (too lazy to get the final)
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 02 March 2011 - 11:53 AM

View PostAndy.Collette, on 01 March 2011 - 08:25 PM, said:

I kinda figured that was why. Can I undo that if I want?

nexusonecm7nightlies8gbclass6

su
nocache


Check the command line help
http://www.facebook....158826790833326