Welcome to CyanogenMod

Welcome to our forum. Like most online communities you must register to post, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of the CyanogenMod Forum by signing in or creating an account. You can even sign in with your Facebook or Twitter account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get automatic updates
  • Get your own profile and make new friends
  • Download files attached to the forum.
  • Customize your experience here
  • Share your CyanogenMod experience!
Guest Message by DevFuse

update-cm-7.1.0-RC1-GalaxyS-signed

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 doushka

doushka
  • Members
  • 2 posts
    uk - United Kingdom
  • Device Model:
    Galaxy S i9000
  • CM Version:
    Cyanogen v7 RC1 260611
  • Recovery Image:
    TWRP

Posted 31 July 2011 - 06:45 PM

Hi guys, I'm new to Android and to this forum and have the Galaxy S running Gingerbread 2.3.3 build XXJVO and think it is a great phone.

I am now trying to install ' update-cm-7.1.0-RC1-GalaxyS-signed ' and am following the instructions in the new Android magazine.
I have rooted the phone using Odin and have got the superuser access all seems well.
I am now trying to install the above update.
Having followed the mag instructions I have installed the ' Flash Clockwork MOD recovery '.
I then go to ' Backup Current ROM ', backup name appears.
The next step fails with:

Finding update package....
Opening update package....
Verify update package......
E: failed to verify whole-life signature
E: signature verification failed
Installation failed

I have the new ROM stored on my external SD card which is 8gb.

After connecting the phone the external card is K: and the internal card is N: but the 'Verify update package' needs to be in E: .....mmmm.

I think maybe I could be doing something wrong here - maybe the update should be on the internal card - I'm not sure.