Jump to content

Welcome to CyanogenMod

Welcome to our forum. Like most online communities you must register to post, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of the CyanogenMod Forum by signing in or creating an account. You can even sign in with your Facebook or Twitter account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get automatic updates
  • Get your own profile and make new friends
  • Download files attached to the forum.
  • Customize your experience here
  • Share your CyanogenMod experience!
Guest Message by DevFuse
 

Do You JIT or Not on the G1/Dream?


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

Poll: Do You JIT or Not on the G1/Dream? (116 member(s) have cast votes)

Do You JIT or Not on the G1/Dream?

  1. Yes (37 votes [31.90%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 31.90%

  2. No (67 votes [57.76%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 57.76%

  3. My answer is longer than a yes or no... (12 votes [10.34%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 10.34%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#1 bugmenot

bugmenot
  • Members
  • 112 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Device Model:
        
  • CM Version:
    -1
  • Recovery Image:
    Stock

Posted 31 July 2010 - 01:06 AM

As topic.

#2 Jaggd

Jaggd

    Reaper

  • Donators
  • 83 posts
  • Twitter:AdamCorcoran
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Location:
    Augusta, ME
  • Device Model:
    Tmobile G1
  • CM Version:
    CM 7.1 DS
  • Recovery Image:
    Amon_RA

Posted 31 July 2010 - 01:09 AM

The only way ive found it usable on my G1 is with swap or compcache enabled. Currently running CM6 RC2 without JIT enabled.

#3 Firerat

Firerat
  • Members
  • 1803 posts
  • Twitter:firer4t
  • Country:
    uk - United Kingdom
  • Device Model:
    Dream aka G1 aka trout
  • CM Version:
    CM6 Magpie Ezt 2708
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 31 July 2010 - 01:14 AM

jit uses more memory, memory is tight on g1/mt3g (32b)

in 'real life' there is no real advantage to jit, apps will start faster, but in the long run consume more memory.

imo this trade off is not favourable

a 32a will probably have a better experience with jit

#4 Overgood

Overgood
  • Members
  • 18 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Location:
    Lombard, IL
  • Device Model:
    |0|
  • CM Version:
    CM 6.0 RC1
  • Recovery Image:
    Amon_RA

Posted 31 July 2010 - 04:35 AM

View PostFirerat, on 31 July 2010 - 01:14 AM, said:

jit uses more memory, memory is tight on g1/mt3g (32b)

in 'real life' there is no real advantage to jit, apps will start faster, but in the long run consume more memory.

imo this trade off is not favourable

a 32a will probably have a better experience with jit

I will try and see if jit makes my M2a more responsive.  However, compcrash is enabled, would you recommend this along with jit or not?

#5 elvis_freshly

elvis_freshly
  • Members
  • 200 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Location:
    Atlanta, Ga.
  • Device Model:
    HTC DREAM/G1
  • CM Version:
    6.0 Final
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 31 July 2010 - 05:07 AM

Jit is NOT for G1's if you need that much more memory maybe consider upgrading to a Nexus One or something with better processing speed clearly.

#6 Dr_Cloverdale

Dr_Cloverdale
  • Members
  • 22 posts
  • Twitter:Dr_Cloverdale
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Location:
    Washington DC
  • Device Model:
    |2|
  • CM Version:
    CM6-RC2
  • Recovery Image:
    Amon_RA

Posted 31 July 2010 - 05:21 AM

I wanted it to work so badly that I used it up until yesterday, but unless I would reboot many times daily the phone would start slowing badly. After turning off JIT, there is noticeable benefit to performance.

#7 Amir

Amir
  • Donators
  • 33 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Location:
    California
  • Device Model:
    |2|
  • CM Version:
    CM6
  • Recovery Image:
    Amon_RA

Posted 31 July 2010 - 09:54 AM

View PostDr_Cloverdale, on 31 July 2010 - 05:21 AM, said:

I wanted it to work so badly that I used it up until yesterday, but unless I would reboot many times daily the phone would start slowing badly. After turning off JIT, there is noticeable benefit to performance.


But I tried using it along with "Auto Memory Manager" and it works Much better.

I mean Much Better (Noticeable).

Vote on this after trying it >>> http://forum.cyanoge...r-embed-in-cm6/

#8 3mp0w3r

3mp0w3r
  • Members
  • 1120 posts
  • Country:
    ie - Ireland
  • Location:
    Ireland
  • Device Model:
    HTC Dream
  • CM Version:
    CM D-S nightly
  • Recovery Image:
    Amon_RA

Posted 31 July 2010 - 02:17 PM

Jit on for my g1, really fast performance, no issues :)

#9 bugmenot

bugmenot
  • Members
  • 112 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Device Model:
        
  • CM Version:
    -1
  • Recovery Image:
    Stock

Posted 31 July 2010 - 07:39 PM

Found this...

http://www.mobile-wa...peed-up-g1.html

However, it's only a measure of individual app performance. Are there any automated methods, to test a bunches of actions strung together (e.g. opening different apps and doing different things)...?

#10 Firerat

Firerat
  • Members
  • 1803 posts
  • Twitter:firer4t
  • Country:
    uk - United Kingdom
  • Device Model:
    Dream aka G1 aka trout
  • CM Version:
    CM6 Magpie Ezt 2708
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 31 July 2010 - 07:47 PM

View Postbugmenot, on 31 July 2010 - 07:39 PM, said:

Found this...

http://www.mobile-wa...peed-up-g1.html

However, it's only a measure of individual app performance. Are there any automated methods, to test a bunches of actions strung together (e.g. opening different apps and doing different things)...?


well, jit is great for benchmarks.. but does is translate to real perfomance

best way is to just try it with for a couple of days, and without for a couple of days, and see what works best for you

#11 majoraccent

majoraccent
  • Donators
  • 20 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Device Model:
    |2|
  • CM Version:
    6.0.0-RC3
  • Recovery Image:
    Amon_RA

Posted 01 August 2010 - 01:27 AM

View PostFirerat, on 31 July 2010 - 07:47 PM, said:

well, jit is great for benchmarks.. but does is translate to real perfomance

best way is to just try it with for a couple of days, and without for a couple of days, and see what works best for you


JIT increased my linpack from 2.6 up to 3.9, and did the phone seem "snappier" inside apps, but I lost the ability to multitask due to low memory.  It was so bad that if I was playing music and opened another app, the music app would close itself, repeatedly.  After switching it back off, everything seems ok on RC2.  Still, I figure I'll upgrade my phone as soon as "project emerald" becomes reality (and CM is supported on it).

Edited by majoraccent, 01 August 2010 - 01:27 AM.


#12 Amir

Amir
  • Donators
  • 33 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Location:
    California
  • Device Model:
    |2|
  • CM Version:
    CM6
  • Recovery Image:
    Amon_RA

Posted 01 August 2010 - 02:14 AM

View Postbugmenot, on 31 July 2010 - 07:39 PM, said:

Found this...

http://www.mobile-wa...peed-up-g1.html

However, it's only a measure of individual app performance. Are there any automated methods, to test a bunches of actions strung together (e.g. opening different apps and doing different things)...?


I am kind of with you, it kinds of takes away my lags also...

#13 reece

reece
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  • Device Model:
    |2|
  • CM Version:
    cm5. 0. 8ds
  • Recovery Image:
    Amon_RA

Posted 01 August 2010 - 03:14 AM

I've tried a few different performance configurations on my ADP1, and the fastest so far has been JIT + swap.

#14 ratburner

ratburner
  • Members
  • 32 posts
  • Country:
    uk - United Kingdom
  • Device Model:
    |2|
  • CM Version:
    nightlies
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 01 August 2010 - 03:02 PM

View Postelvis_freshly, on 31 July 2010 - 05:07 AM, said:

Jit is NOT for G1's if you need that much more memory maybe consider upgrading to a Nexus One or something with better processing speed clearly.


so you're an android expert? i doubt it.

many of us are running jit successfully on g1s. mine would outperform a stock nexus.

many of us can't afford a nexus.

#15 Firerat

Firerat
  • Members
  • 1803 posts
  • Twitter:firer4t
  • Country:
    uk - United Kingdom
  • Device Model:
    Dream aka G1 aka trout
  • CM Version:
    CM6 Magpie Ezt 2708
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 01 August 2010 - 03:15 PM

View Postbludnguts, on 01 August 2010 - 03:02 PM, said:

so you're an android expert? i doubt it.

many of us are running jit successfully on g1s. mine would outperform a stock nexus.

many of us can't afford a nexus.

I suspect many of you want to think JIT is making your phone better, so feel its making it better
It does improve benchmarks, but benchmarks don't necessarily translate to real world improvement.

JIT consumes more memory, 32Bs are light on memory, but if you feel its working great, then great

#16 3mp0w3r

3mp0w3r
  • Members
  • 1120 posts
  • Country:
    ie - Ireland
  • Location:
    Ireland
  • Device Model:
    HTC Dream
  • CM Version:
    CM D-S nightly
  • Recovery Image:
    Amon_RA

Posted 01 August 2010 - 03:21 PM

I'm not using benchmarks for comparison, my G1 has never gone so fast, can't fault it.

#17 argie629

argie629
  • Donators
  • 72 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Location:
    Bedford, TX
  • Device Model:
    T-Mo Vibrant
  • CM Version:
    Eugene JK2 Froyo
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 01 August 2010 - 09:11 PM

View Postreece, on 01 August 2010 - 03:14 AM, said:

I've tried a few different performance configurations on my ADP1, and the fastest so far has been JIT + swap.
I tried everything.  JIT enabled was technically faster but made ADW restart often because my 32B was starved for memory.  SWAP helps this, but it slows the phone down (and shortens the life of the sdcard).

I finally turned all the gizmos off and installed the Advanced Taskiller again, and my phone flies using plain-jane RC2.

Trust firerat.

George

#18 Firerat

Firerat
  • Members
  • 1803 posts
  • Twitter:firer4t
  • Country:
    uk - United Kingdom
  • Device Model:
    Dream aka G1 aka trout
  • CM Version:
    CM6 Magpie Ezt 2708
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 01 August 2010 - 09:24 PM

View Postargie629, on 01 August 2010 - 09:11 PM, said:


Trust firerat.

George


I wouldn't trust me with anything, especially if I'd had a drink or two ...


but, at the end of the day its what works best for you, and how you use your phone.

What I dislike is people coming to a new rom, asking if something like using jit will be a good thing and someone saying "hell yeah,, turn it on "

when the fact is they may get a better experience without it on, same goes for swap.

just try it, give it some time with each option and decide for yourself :)

#19 bugmenot

bugmenot
  • Members
  • 112 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Device Model:
        
  • CM Version:
    -1
  • Recovery Image:
    Stock

Posted 02 August 2010 - 01:23 PM

After some not so extensive testing, I've disabled JIT on my G1.

It may raise the linpack score, but hurt the overall experience.

#20 yihan

yihan
  • Members
  • 259 posts
  • Country:
    be - Belgium
  • Device Model:
    G1
  • CM Version:
    CM 6 Nightly
  • Recovery Image:
    Amon_RA

Posted 02 August 2010 - 04:34 PM

View Postbugmenot, on 02 August 2010 - 01:23 PM, said:

After some not so extensive testing, I've disabled JIT on my G1.
It slows the phone to unresponsive.