Jump to content

Welcome to CyanogenMod

Welcome to our forum. Like most online communities you must register to post, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of the CyanogenMod Forum by signing in or creating an account. You can even sign in with your Facebook or Twitter account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get automatic updates
  • Get your own profile and make new friends
  • Download files attached to the forum.
  • Customize your experience here
  • Share your CyanogenMod experience!
Guest Message by DevFuse
 

[Droid] CM6 RC3


  • Please log in to reply
51 replies to this topic

#1 AbsoluteZero

AbsoluteZero

    Droid Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 1542 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Location:
    Washington DC
  • Device Model:
    N5,motox,N4,N7,SGN,TP,D1
  • CM Version:
    stock,stock,CM10.2,CM10.2,CM10.1,CM9,N#174
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 15 August 2010 - 08:17 PM

CyanogenMod RC3 for Droid is now available on RomManager for those interested. Download Rom=>CyanogenMod=>RC3

When selecting GApps it will download the new package including newest versions of all apps (like new Gmail) as well as the new VoiceSearch and ChromeToPhone.

If you're having problems getting/applying it with RomManager, clear you download cache (menu->clear dl cache) and try again. Sometimes downloads get corrupt if your data connection drops out during download.

Great job Koush, #teamdouche, and any other CM Devs. We're all thankful.

RC3 Direct Download: http://bit.ly/aIxbmw
New GApps Direct Download: http://bit.ly/bBbg6X

Edit: GApps link changed to new GApps package that should solve VoiceSearch FC's. Flash from recovery or using RM.
Alternatively, if you had already flashed "gapps-hdpi-20100814-signed.zip" previously linked and want to save some time...download the new VoiceSearch lib file, mount /system rw, copy the file to /system/lib, reboot. This should solve your VoiceSearch related FC's.

#2 Royal2000H

Royal2000H
  • Members
  • 21 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Device Model:
    |3|
  • CM Version:
    CM6 RC3
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 15 August 2010 - 08:20 PM

Anyone know the changes since RC2?

#3 AbsoluteZero

AbsoluteZero

    Droid Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 1542 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Location:
    Washington DC
  • Device Model:
    N5,motox,N4,N7,SGN,TP,D1
  • CM Version:
    stock,stock,CM10.2,CM10.2,CM10.1,CM9,N#174
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 15 August 2010 - 08:38 PM

View PostRoyal2000H, on 15 August 2010 - 08:20 PM, said:

Anyone know the changes since RC2?
It was just built so it should have all the changes people have raved about in the nightlies.
Some things changed since RC2: new boot animation, custom power widget, custom color notification bar and pulldown, DSP (equalizer for audio), and many more. If you haven't been running the nightlies then there's a lot since RC2. Some you will notice immediately, some you may never notice.

#4 comk4ver

comk4ver
  • Members
  • 2 posts
  • Twitter:comk4ver
  • Device Model:
    |3|
  • CM Version:
    cyanogen rc1
  • Recovery Image:
    Cyanogen

Posted 15 August 2010 - 08:43 PM

noob alert: so when using rom manager, after clicking CM 6 RC3, when the google apps comes up choose that one instead of the google apps froyo on the bottom right?

#5 Royal2000H

Royal2000H
  • Members
  • 21 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Device Model:
    |3|
  • CM Version:
    CM6 RC3
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 15 August 2010 - 08:55 PM

View PostAbsolute Zero, on 15 August 2010 - 08:38 PM, said:

It was just built so it should have all the changes people have raved about in the nightlies.
Some things changed since RC2: new boot animation, custom power widget, custom color notification bar and pulldown, DSP (equalizer for audio), and many more. If you haven't been running the nightlies then there's a lot since RC2. Some you will notice immediately, some you may never notice.
Haven't been running the nightlies... Actually I'm not even on CM6 yet. I was waiting on something more stable than RC1/RC2 (based on bug reports) before upgrading. Thanks for the info!

#6 Chromededome

Chromededome
  • Members
  • 34 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Location:
    Louisville, KY
  • Device Model:
    Droid
  • CM Version:
    CM 6.1 RC3
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 15 August 2010 - 08:58 PM

View PostRoyal2000H, on 15 August 2010 - 08:55 PM, said:

Haven't been running the nightlies... Actually I'm not even on CM6 yet. I was waiting on something more stable than RC1/RC2 (based on bug reports) before upgrading. Thanks for the info!

I have been rocking RC1, RC2, and now RC3 without a single crash.

Absolute Zero pretty much sumed up the changes.

Edited by Chromededome, 15 August 2010 - 08:59 PM.


#7 AbsoluteZero

AbsoluteZero

    Droid Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 1542 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Location:
    Washington DC
  • Device Model:
    N5,motox,N4,N7,SGN,TP,D1
  • CM Version:
    stock,stock,CM10.2,CM10.2,CM10.1,CM9,N#174
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 15 August 2010 - 09:01 PM

View Postcomk4ver, on 15 August 2010 - 08:43 PM, said:

noob alert: so when using rom manager, after clicking CM 6 RC3, when the google apps comes up choose that one instead of the google apps froyo on the bottom right?
yes

#8 Creepy

Creepy
  • Donators
  • 160 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Device Model:
    Droid 1
  • CM Version:
    CM 6.1.2-stable
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 15 August 2010 - 09:04 PM

Voice action "set alarm" claims incorrect clock version installed.

Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk

#9 Chromededome

Chromededome
  • Members
  • 34 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Location:
    Louisville, KY
  • Device Model:
    Droid
  • CM Version:
    CM 6.1 RC3
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 15 August 2010 - 09:10 PM

View PostCreepy, on 15 August 2010 - 09:04 PM, said:

Voice action "set alarm" claims incorrect clock version installed.

Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk


From google: "The clock app update is currently unavailable. Our team is actively working on a solution so the 'set alarm' voice action can be used. Thanks so much for your patience."

#10 jroid

jroid
  • Members
  • 4 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Location:
    Washington DC
  • Device Model:
    |3|
  • CM Version:
    6.x
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 15 August 2010 - 09:21 PM

Do we need to update the radio? Or is it just required for N1?

#11 Chromededome

Chromededome
  • Members
  • 34 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Location:
    Louisville, KY
  • Device Model:
    Droid
  • CM Version:
    CM 6.1 RC3
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 15 August 2010 - 09:26 PM

View Postjroid, on 15 August 2010 - 09:21 PM, said:

Do we need to update the radio? Or is it just required for N1?


I didn't update my radio and I have not had any problems. Calls, 3G, and WIFi are all working.

I am no expert though.

#12 Royal2000H

Royal2000H
  • Members
  • 21 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Device Model:
    |3|
  • CM Version:
    CM6 RC3
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 15 August 2010 - 09:28 PM

CM 5.0.8 to CM 6 RC3... should I wipe data/cache?

#13 jroid

jroid
  • Members
  • 4 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Location:
    Washington DC
  • Device Model:
    |3|
  • CM Version:
    6.x
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 15 August 2010 - 09:39 PM

View PostRoyal2000H, on 15 August 2010 - 09:28 PM, said:

CM 5.0.8 to CM 6 RC3... should I wipe data/cache?

most def.

#14 DroidDoes13

DroidDoes13
  • Members
  • 8 posts
  • Twitter:smartmobilellc
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Device Model:
    |3|
  • CM Version:
    Cyanogen Mod
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 15 August 2010 - 09:50 PM

My Slingplayer and Ustream do not work now.  They did not work with RC2, but did wonderfully with the Nightlies.  Just installed the one from two days ago and they were great.  Now with RC3 they are broken again.  Might have to revert back to a Nightly.

#15 nyijedi

nyijedi
  • Members
  • 62 posts
  • Device Model:
    |3|
  • CM Version:
    6.0.0 RC
  • Recovery Image:
    Cyanogen

Posted 15 August 2010 - 09:51 PM

Unless I'm missing something, customizing the LED color for SMS has been removed in RC3?  Why?  It worked absolutely fine in RC1 and RC2.  That's a big feature for me, and I would guess for many others too.

EDIT: Nevermind.  It's now in Cyanogenmod Settings>User Interface>LED notifications, along with some new options.

Edited by nyijedi, 15 August 2010 - 09:54 PM.


#16 AbsoluteZero

AbsoluteZero

    Droid Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 1542 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Location:
    Washington DC
  • Device Model:
    N5,motox,N4,N7,SGN,TP,D1
  • CM Version:
    stock,stock,CM10.2,CM10.2,CM10.1,CM9,N#174
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 15 August 2010 - 09:53 PM

View PostRoyal2000H, on 15 August 2010 - 09:28 PM, said:

CM 5.0.8 to CM 6 RC3... should I wipe data/cache?
http://forum.cyanoge...ndpost__p__3997

Some have had luck not wiping (although they may have updated gradually). Many have not and either bootloop or have lots of FC's.
I suggest you WIPE especially from CM5 (usually recommended between major versions) but if you don't want to, do like we always suggest. Backup, flash, Problem?, WIPE, boot.

#17 Droid_Rage

Droid_Rage
  • Members
  • 57 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Device Model:
    Motorola Droid
  • CM Version:
    Nightlies
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 15 August 2010 - 09:54 PM

View PostRoyal2000H, on 15 August 2010 - 09:28 PM, said:

CM 5.0.8 to CM 6 RC3... should I wipe data/cache?

you don't have to. I haven't done a wipe since I first put CM on my phone. if your market won't open reflash gapps.

#18 DroidDoes13

DroidDoes13
  • Members
  • 8 posts
  • Twitter:smartmobilellc
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Device Model:
    |3|
  • CM Version:
    Cyanogen Mod
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 15 August 2010 - 10:03 PM

I went ahead and reverted to the backup I made of the nightly until a release candidate can be produced that can run ustream and Slingplayer.

#19 Royal2000H

Royal2000H
  • Members
  • 21 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Device Model:
    |3|
  • CM Version:
    CM6 RC3
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 15 August 2010 - 10:03 PM

Eh I'll just Titanium my important stuff.

If I wipe, I remember Market restores all the apps (without their saved data)... how do I prevent that?
I want a clean phone except for what I backup with Titanium.

Thanks again guys

#20 CurtDragon

CurtDragon
  • Members
  • 24 posts
  • Device Model:
    |3|
  • CM Version:
    6
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 15 August 2010 - 10:44 PM

Sigh... backed up, wiped and loaded. During setup the wizard f/c on me. Then home screen is just black =(  Then not even a reboot loop, just endless splash screen. Will try to flash it again and see