Jump to content

Welcome to CyanogenMod

Welcome to our forum. Like most online communities you must register to post, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of the CyanogenMod Forum by signing in or creating an account. You can even sign in with your Facebook or Twitter account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get automatic updates
  • Get your own profile and make new friends
  • Download files attached to the forum.
  • Customize your experience here
  • Share your CyanogenMod experience!
Guest Message by DevFuse
 

[Solved] HTC Magic 32A - assert failed: getprop("ro.product.device") == "trout"


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 munkay

munkay
  • Members
  • 4 posts
  • Device Model:
    |2|
  • CM Version:
    5.0.7
  • Recovery Image:
    Amon_RA

Posted 11 June 2010 - 06:30 PM

I'm trying to install CM 5.0.7 on a freshly rooted Rogers HTC Magic 32A.

Sapphire pvt 32a eng s-off h
hboot-1.76.2007 (SAPP50000)
CPLD-12
Radio-6.35.08.29

Recovery: RA 1.6.2

Every time I try to flash the CM-update-5.0.7-signed.zip, i get the following error:

assert failed: getprop("ro.product.device") == "trout"
...
etc


Any ideas why? How can I get around this?

Thanks!

#2 chucktdriscoll

chucktdriscoll
  • Members
  • 106 posts
  • Twitter:chucktdriscoll
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Location:
    Winter Park, FL
  • Device Model:
    Samsung Vibrant
  • CM Version:
    Cyanogenmod 7 Test
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 11 June 2010 - 06:33 PM

View Postmunkay, on 11 June 2010 - 06:30 PM, said:

I'm trying to install CM 5.0.7 on a freshly rooted Rogers HTC Magic 32A.

Sapphire pvt 32a eng s-off h
hboot-1.76.2007 (SAPP50000)
CPLD-12
Radio-6.35.08.29

Recovery: RA 1.6.2

Every time I try to flash the CM-update-5.0.7-signed.zip, i get the following error:

assert failed: getprop("ro.product.device") == "trout"
...
etc


Any ideas why? How can I get around this?

Thanks!

I believe your problem is the "Radio-6.35.08.29" part of that.  I don't think CM supports 6.x radios fully as of yet, though some searching through the forums and wiki may provide more answers and solutions.

#3 Krylon360

Krylon360

    Nook Maintainer

  • Developers
  • 207 posts
  • Twitter:Krylon360
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Location:
    Provo, UT
  • Device Model:
    Nook Color
  • CM Version:
    CM10
  • Recovery Image:
    TWRP

Posted 11 June 2010 - 06:40 PM

chuck is correct, no official support for the 6x radio's, however, zinx is working on a kernal that will support it. You might wanna hop in IRC and see if Zinx will let you test the new kernal, otherwise you will need to downgrade your radio

#4 munkay

munkay
  • Members
  • 4 posts
  • Device Model:
    |2|
  • CM Version:
    5.0.7
  • Recovery Image:
    Amon_RA

Posted 11 June 2010 - 08:41 PM

View Postchucktdriscoll, on 11 June 2010 - 06:33 PM, said:

I believe your problem is the "Radio-6.35.08.29" part of that.  I don't think CM supports 6.x radios fully as of yet, though some searching through the forums and wiki may provide more answers and solutions.

For the Rogers version (32A), how/which radio should I downgrade to? do I have to downgrade to a matching hboot as well?

#5 Krylon360

Krylon360

    Nook Maintainer

  • Developers
  • 207 posts
  • Twitter:Krylon360
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Location:
    Provo, UT
  • Device Model:
    Nook Color
  • CM Version:
    CM10
  • Recovery Image:
    TWRP

Posted 11 June 2010 - 08:47 PM

not exactly sure how to downgrade. Have you tried talking to zinx yet?
Someone else will need to chime in on the steps to downgrade. I don't want to give you info and it causes a brick.

#6 munkay

munkay
  • Members
  • 4 posts
  • Device Model:
    |2|
  • CM Version:
    5.0.7
  • Recovery Image:
    Amon_RA

Posted 11 June 2010 - 09:07 PM

View PostKrylon360, on 11 June 2010 - 08:47 PM, said:

not exactly sure how to downgrade. Have you tried talking to zinx yet?
Someone else will need to chime in on the steps to downgrade. I don't want to give you info and it causes a brick.

i registered, but can't send to channel. not sure how else to ask zinx

#7 Krylon360

Krylon360

    Nook Maintainer

  • Developers
  • 207 posts
  • Twitter:Krylon360
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Location:
    Provo, UT
  • Device Model:
    Nook Color
  • CM Version:
    CM10
  • Recovery Image:
    TWRP

Posted 11 June 2010 - 09:30 PM

View Postmunkay, on 11 June 2010 - 09:07 PM, said:

i registered, but can't send to channel. not sure how else to ask zinx

you need to identify with nickserv.

type
/nickserv identify "password"

remove the quote's and replace with your password you created.

#8 munkay

munkay
  • Members
  • 4 posts
  • Device Model:
    |2|
  • CM Version:
    5.0.7
  • Recovery Image:
    Amon_RA

Posted 12 June 2010 - 02:52 AM

** Solved **

Downgraded radio (Radio_HTC_PVT_32A_3.22.23.18), hboot (hboot-1.33.2010), and recovery (recovery-RA-sapphire-v1.6.2H)
Cyanogen worked perfectly :)

#9 htciscrap

htciscrap
  • Members
  • 2 posts
  • Device Model:
    |2|
  • CM Version:
    5.0.7
  • Recovery Image:
    Cyanogen

Posted 12 June 2010 - 10:34 AM

View Postmunkay, on 12 June 2010 - 02:52 AM, said:

** Solved **

Downgraded radio (Radio_HTC_PVT_32A_3.22.23.18), hboot (hboot-1.33.2010), and recovery (recovery-RA-sapphire-v1.6.2H)
Cyanogen worked perfectly :)

How did you downgrade the radio?

I tried the following:
flastboot flash radio Radio_HTC_PVT_32A_3.22.20.17.img
But the process hangs?

What steps did you follow to downgrade the radio?

#10 GreatBigDog

GreatBigDog
  • Members
  • 66 posts
  • Twitter:Greatbigdog01
  • Country:
    ca - Canada
  • Device Model:
    GN, N4, 2012 N7
  • CM Version:
    CM10.2 nightly
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 12 June 2010 - 11:28 AM

View Postmunkay, on 12 June 2010 - 02:52 AM, said:

** Solved **

Downgraded radio (Radio_HTC_PVT_32A_3.22.23.18), hboot (hboot-1.33.2010), and recovery (recovery-RA-sapphire-v1.6.2H)
Cyanogen worked perfectly :)

If you haven't filled out the waiver and use that radio on the rogers network, Rogers will cut your data.

In order to keep you data either fill out the waiver on Rogers site or you will need to change your radio to the post E911 update radio from the dream. 3.22.26.17

#11 wjsturgis3

wjsturgis3
  • Donators
  • 123 posts
  • Country:
    us - United States
  • Device Model:
    HTC Inspire 4G
  • CM Version:
    Android Revolution HD/4G 5.1.x
  • Recovery Image:
    ClockworkMod

Posted 12 June 2010 - 12:22 PM

htciscrap:

Look at this thread and you will have the process info.  Heed the comments about Rogers dream radio and the need to update all 3, radio, SPL and recovery.

http://forum.xda-dev...ad.php?t=605239

#12 htciscrap

htciscrap
  • Members
  • 2 posts
  • Device Model:
    |2|
  • CM Version:
    5.0.7
  • Recovery Image:
    Cyanogen

Posted 12 June 2010 - 01:47 PM

View Postwjsturgis3, on 12 June 2010 - 12:22 PM, said:

htciscrap:

Look at this thread and you will have the process info.  Heed the comments about Rogers dream radio and the need to update all 3, radio, SPL and recovery.

http://forum.xda-dev...ad.php?t=605239


Ah, yes thanks. It worked after I flashed all three: hboot, radio, and recovery. The order also mattered.
Also found similar info on: http://forum.xda-dev...ad.php?t=544761